The Dark Element is a musical project featuring vocalist Anette Olzon (ex-Nightwish) and Finnish guitarist and songwriter Jani Liimatainen (Insomnium, Cain’s Offering). ‘Songs The Night Sings’ is the second album by the duo and takes off where their self-titled 2017 debut left off, with immaculate vocals from Anette and fabulous anthems written by Jani.
Says Anette: “It’s a thrill that we’re releasing another album and for me it was even easier to record this one since me and Jani now know each other really well. For me, this album is bigger and better and I believe everyone who liked our debut will really like this one too. All I can say is that I already long to do another. Hep hep!”
Adds Jani: “I think the album is very heavy, but still hyper melodic, and this time we are even exploring new musical territories we didn’t on the previous album. Now that me and Anette have one album together under our belts, we have found the style we want to pursue and also the ideal way of working together. Given all this, I think it’s safe to say that with this album you’ll get even more of what made the first album so good, only it’s bigger, better and bolder!”
Ever since word about The Dark Element first got out, fans were frothing with anticipation of its arrival. And no wonder, considering the talents involved! Anette is widely known for her immaculate voice on two hit albums by Nightwish, ‘Dark Passion Play’ and ‘Imaginareum’, while Jani has recently been busy in Insomnium and Cain’s Offering (alongside Stratovarius singer Timo Kotipelto) but had already made a deep impression on power metal fans due to the twelve years he had spent in Sonata Arctica after co-founding that band. The self-titled debut by The Dark Element (released in November 2017) proved that the impressive resumé of these individuals when combined had been put to very good use.
The Dark Element made their live debut in June 2018 at the Sweden Rock Festival. They also toured Japan and performed at the Frontiers Rock Sweden festival in October. Tour dates for the new album are in the planning stages.
1  Not Your Monster
2  Songs The Night Sings
3  When It All Comes Down
4  Silence Between The Words
5  Pills On My Pillow
6  To Whatever End
7  The Pallbearer Walks Alone
8  Get Out Of My Head
9  If I Had A Heart
10  You Will Learn
11  I Have To Go
Anette Olzon – vocals
Jani Liimatainen – guitars, keyboards, programming
Jonas Kuhlberg – bass
Rolf Pilve – drums

pre-order / streaming link

Limited edition 180g gatefold vinyl and merch bundles available from the Frontiers webstore

includes the single