Promising to be one of the most ambitious projects in metal history, BLIND GUARDIAN’s forthcoming release will be well worth the wait. The idea of recording an orchestral album originally formed in the minds of the two leading lights of the BLIND GUARDIAN universe – guitarist André Olbrich and singer Hansi Kürsch – during the 1990’s when BLIND GUARDIAN started to use orchestral elements to enhance their opulent sound. The monumental project started to take shape over recent years, and mirroring its epic sound cascades, the lyrical concept was developed. To create the concept, Andrè and Hansi worked alongside German bestselling author Markus Heitz, whose latest novel Die dunklen Lande was released on March 1st, 2019. The book is set in 1629 and contains the prequel to BLIND GUARDIAN TWILIGHT ORCHESTRA’s opus Legacy Of The Dark Lands, which will be out on November 8th, 2019.

Today, the band release the third album trailer, in which Hansi details recording the vocals for their epic project. Find out more, here:

Hansi states, “Witness this five minutes plus composition of vocal recording mayhem. These takes were filmed during the last weeks and months of the production of “Legacy of the Dark Lands”. After more or less 20 years of composing, arranging and pre-producing, we finally started singing somewhere in the end of 2017. I knew, it would take some time, but it was a „little”  more time than expected when I finished the recordings in December 2018. Enjoy some almost brillant and some not so brillant performances of this seemingly never-ending adventure.  What can I say? Now, looking back after all the toil, I can confirm it was a lot of fun. Of course.”

Pre-order The Legacy Of The Dark
2 CD Digipack
2 LP Gatefold (different colours)
3 CD Earbook (album, instrumental, no interludes version)
4 CD Earbook (album, instrumental, no interludes version, audio book) *SOLD OUT*
5 LP BOX (Album 2 LP, Instrumental 2 LP, Audio book LP)

Watch and listen to the first single ‘Point Of No Return’:

The Legacy Of The Dark Lands tracklist:
01. 1618 Ouverture
02. The Gathering
03. War Feeds War
04. Comets And Prophecies
05. Dark Cloud’s Rising
06. The Ritual
07. In The Underworld
08. A Secret Society
09. The Great Ordeal
10. Bez
11. In The Red Dwarf’s Tower
12. Into The Battle
13. Treason
14. Between The Realms
15. Point Of No Return
16. The White Horseman
17. Nephilim
18. Trial And Coronation
19. Harvester Of Souls
20. Conquest Is Over
21. This Storm
22. The Great Assault
23. Beyond The Wall
24. A New Beginning

Order the single ‘This Storm’ on clear, gold and red & black splatter here:
Watch the accompanying lyric video for ‘This Storm’ here: