The Urban Voodoo Machine front man Paul-Ronney Angel has made a statement on their involvement in the video for the English World Cup song Charge of the Light Brigade by The Tallywags (Sex Pistols, The Professionals & 3 Colours Red)

“I hate football and I’m not even English so it’s somewhat bizarre that we have become the mascots for the World Cup!

I got a phone call from my mate Tom Spencer one night saying he needed a Marching Band for a music video and could I get 4 guys together. Sure thang I said and made some phone calls, telling everyone it was for the new Professionals video!

Not even at the shoot, which was at a football pitch somewhere in West London, did it dawn on any of us that this had anything to do with the World Cup – we were just being a Marching Band and walked up and down the pitch a few times while they filmed us.

Imagine the shock we had when we saw the video – they made us look like a bunch of bloody football hooligans!! We really had no idea that this would be the finished thing. The first thing I knew about it was when I walked down Camden and a guy came up to me asking if I was in Tallywags!

I really would like to make it clear that no one in The Urban Voodoo Machine gives a toss about football or the World Cup but hope that Tom Spencer and the boys have success with the song!”

F**k that football s**t, come watch The Urban Voodoo Machine on tour!

Sat 16th Jun – Hell’N’Cat Festival, Victoria Bikers Pub, Coalville
Fri 22nd Jun – Rotterdam Bluegrass Festival
Sat 23rd Jun – De Pul, Uden, Holland
Sat 21st Jul – Summer By The City Festival, London Bridge
Fri 27th Jul – Gabefest, Southampton
Sat 4th Aug – Bestival, Dorset
Sun 12th Aug – Boomtown Fair, Winchester
Sat 25th Aug – Stasegem Kermis Festival, Harelbeke, Belgium
Sun 26th Aug – Twinwood Festival, Bedford
Sat 1st Sep – The Hub, Plymouth
Sun 2nd Sep – Tattoo Convention, Royal Cornwall Showground
Fri 7th Sep – Blackmarket VIP, Hastings
Fri 14th Sep – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Sat 15th Sep – Holroyd Arms, Guildford
Fri 28th Sep – Chapel Arts Centre, Bath
Sat 29th Sep – Horton Stomp Festival, Wimborne
Fri 5th Oct – Little Theatre, Doncaster
Sat 6th Oct – Georgian Theatre, Stockton-on-Tees
Sun 7th Oct – The Zanzibar Club, Liverpool
Fri 19th Oct – Esquires, Bedford
Sat 20th Oct – Gypsy Hotel @ Nambucca, London
Sat 27th Oct – OPEN, Norwich
Sun 28th Oct – Jazz Cafe @ Bishop’s Cleeve Tithe Barn, Cheltenham