With their new studio album ‘Hippopotamus’ due in September, Sparks release ‘Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)’, the new single from this highly anticipated record.

he title track was tipped by The Guardian Guide, NME and Music Week and described by Mojo as “combining Dr Seuss whimsy, classical miniaturism and the archest humours – with an invitation to dance – Ron and Russell Mael return as only they can”. Playlisted on BBC Radio 6 Music and coinciding with the band’s stand out performance at the 6 Music Festival in Glasgow, the song was an intriguing introduction to the band’s first ‘regular’ studio album since 2008’s ‘Exotic Creatures of The Deep’.

 

The “febrile” ‘What The Hell Is It This Time?’ with its “jagged electronic bedrock” and divine intolerance followed.  Also playlisted by 6 Music, the single was praised by classical music critic and BBC Radio 3 presenter Tom Service who said during Steve Lamacq’s Roundtable “I flat out love that. It is really clever, it’s really arch, its lyrics are wonderful” awarding it 10/10.

 

“Like all great Sparks songs, the brothers deliver their sermon standing atop a mountain of grandiose orchestration, investing its undepleted energy with a joyousness that has come to define its work across 45 years.” LA Times

Now Ron and Russell Mael release ‘Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)’ – classic Sparks (without sounding like any previous song in their 40+ year career), the uplifting, hook-laden music belies the lyrics’ melancholic tone

Described as “the smartest, most consistently evolving band in the history of rock”, and internationally acclaimed as pop pioneers, Sparks’ music has always been innovative and instantly identifiable.  Recorded in Los Angeles, ‘Hippopotamus’ sees Sparks take the pop form, shake it up, and create an album that is adventurous, fresh and idiosyncratically ‘Sparks’.

Monday 07 Aug                Vega Theater, Copenhagen

Tuesday 08 Aug               Rockefeller, Oslo, Norway

Thursday 10 Aug             Cirkus, Stockholm, Sweden (sold out)

Saturday 12 Aug              Flow Festival, Helsinki, Finland

Sunday 10 Sep                  Ateliér Babylon, Bratislava

Monday 11 Sep                Lucerna Music Bar, Prague

Tuesday 12 Sep                Columbia Theatre, Berlin

Thursday 14 Sep             Paard van Troje, Den Haag

Friday 15 Sep                    Den Atelier, Luxembourg

Saturday 16 Sep               Ancienne Belgique, Brussels

Monday 18 Sep                Waterfront, Norwich

Tuesday 19 Sep                The Boilershop, Newcastle

Wednesday 20 Sep         Queens Hall, Edinburgh (sold out)

Friday 22 Sep                    O2 Ritz, Manchester (sold out)

Saturday 23 Sep               Rock City, Nottingham

Sunday 24 Sep                  O2 Institute 1, Birmingham

Tuesday 26 Sep                02 Academy, Bristol

Wednesday 27 Sep         O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London

Thursday 28 Sep             02 Shepherds Bush Empire, London

Sunday 1 Oct                     La Gaîté Lyrique, Paris

 

US dates have just been announced, on sale July 28

 

Wednesday 11 Oct         Le Poisson Rouge, New York
Saturday 14 Oct               El Rey Theatre, Los Angeles
Sunday 15 Oct                  El Rey Theatre, Los Angeles
Tuesday 17 Oct                El Rey Theatre, Los Angeles
Sunday 20 Oct                  The Chapel, San Francisco (Early Show)
Sunday 20 Oct                  The Chapel, San Francisco (Late Show)

www.allsparks.com/calendar

 

Hippopotamus Album Tracklisting:

  1. Probably Nothing
    2. Missionary Position
    3. Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)
    4. Scandinavian Design
    5. Giddy Giddy
    6. What The Hell Is It This Time? 
    7. Unaware
    8. Hippopotamus 
    9. Bummer
    10. I Wish You Were Fun
    11. So Tell Me Mrs. Lincoln Aside From That How Was The Play?
    12. When You’re A French Director (featuring Leos Carax)
    13. The Amazing Mr. Repeat
    14. A Little Bit Like Fun
    15. Life With The Macbeths

 

Pre-order Hippopotamus album here: https://sparks.lnk.to/hippopotamusPR

Hippopotamus Store (D2C) link – https://sparks.lnk.to/HippoStoreWE