The ticks turn blue for Red Rum Club as they message fans with the signal to party once more, releasing The Elevation – OUT NOW on Modern Sky – paving the way to the release of The Hollow Of Humdrum, their hotly-anticipated second album. Grabbing the essence of modern love and condensing it to a three-and-a-half-minute tornado of joyful pop, the fleet-footed festival favourites unleash an irresistible, earworm of a single – yet again!

Summer 2020 found Red Rum Club in the eye of an imperfect storm as international radio support for runaway single, Eleanor, including BBC Radio 2 playlisting, offset the band’s disappointment at being unable to shake it out live. Having had to delay festival slots, including a headline appearance to close Liverpool’s Sound City until May 2021, the one-of-a-kind six-piece push to reach a determined, defiant crescendo with The Elevation.

The brass-forward band found trumpet player, Joe Corby, was the catalyst for The Elevation, with him surrendering a riff that songwriter and guitarist, Tom Williams had been long bargaining for, without success. Having finally agreed to set it free, Red Rum Club built an irresistible anthem around it, one that evokes the thrill of a weekend on the tiles, simultaneously telling of the stomach-knotting tension of modern infatuation. As Red Rum Club press ‘send’ on their album’s third single, their ‘Whatsapp Anthem’ gets to meet its public.

Doran, says: “It’s about getting a message read, but the person you sent it to ignores it because they are out, so the track is upbeat and funky to sound like a Saturday night on the dancefloor. The lyrics ‘the ticks turn blue’ is about Whatsapp, seeing that the other person has seen your message, then the agonising wait to see if they reply. It’s the modern equivalent of sending a love letter and the pain or euphoria that comes with it.”

Released on Fri 2 October 2020The Hollow Of Humdrum – an optimistic, energetic and insightful collection of ten songs – builds on the band’s goodtime sensibilities with self-assured, confident lyrical intent, weaving themes of mental health, toxic masculinity and heartache into the threads of their pulse-quickening songs.

Recorded with producer Chris Taylor (Blossoms, The Coral) at Parr Street Studios in the band’s home city of Liverpool, the follow up to Matador was written during the hectic touring period of their maiden campaign. While in airports, vans or hotel rooms, the band took advantage of the on-the-road euphoria, an impenetrable sense of brotherhood and a palpable creative streak to write their masterpiece.

Nominated at the AIM Independent Music Awards 2020 for Best Live Act, Red Rum Club have also announced a huge, 27-date UK Tour, including a hotly-anticipated Liverpool homecoming headline date, shows finally rescheduled from the band’s postponed 2020 tour, plus seven dates in support of Circa Waves. All of Red Rum Club’s confirmed, upcoming live dates are as follows:

  • Wed 10 Feb        Newcastle, Riverside
  • Thu 11 Feb         Glasgow, King Tut’s
  • Fri 12 Feb           Hull, The Adelphi
  • Sat 13 Feb          Manchester, Club Academy
  • Mon 15 Feb        Sheffield, O2 Academy 2
  • Tue 16 Feb         Huddersfield, The Parish
  • Wed 17 Feb        Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
  • Thu 18 Feb         Birmingham, O2 Institute 3
  • Sat 20 Feb          Bedford, Esquires
  • Sun 21 Feb         Oxford, Academy 2
  • Mon 22 Feb        Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
  • Tue 23 Feb          London, Lafayette
  • Thu 25 Feb         Brighton, Patterns
  • Fri 26 Feb           Truro, Old Bakery
  • Sat 27 Feb           Exeter, The Cavern
  • Sun 28 Feb         Bournemouth, The Anvil
  • Tue 2 Mar            York, The Crescent
  • Thu 4 Mar            Glasgow, Academy*
  • Sat 6 Mar             Liverpool, Mountford Hall*
  • Tue 9 Mar             Leicester, O2 Academy*
  • Wed 10 Mar         London, O2 Academy Brixton*
  • Fri 12 Mar            Keele, Keele University*
  • Sat 13 Mar           Norwich, Waterfront*
  • Sun 14 Mar          Cardiff, Tramshed*
  • Tue 16 Mar           Bristol, Thekla
  • Wed 17 Mar         Milton Keynes, The Craufurd Arms
  • Thu 18 Mar          Blackpool, Bootleg Social
  • Sat 17 Apr           Liverpool, Mountford Hall
  • Sun 2 May           Liverpool, Sound City

*supporting Circa Waves

Formed of Fran Doran (vocals), Tom Williams (lead guitar), Michael McDermott (rhythm guitar), Simon Hepworth (bass), Neil Lawson (drums) and their famed trumped player, Joe Corby, Red Rum Club’s have strode determinedly towards their own, distinct musical territory. Corby’s brass flourishes, inspired by obscure Cuban Pop and Mexican mariachi, affecting an inimitable Tarantino-esque glamour has earned them a committed live audience looking to go wild, helping to sell a whopping 3,000 tickets for last year’s homecoming shows at Liverpool’s O2 Academy.

For further release information and details of all Red Rum Club’s upcoming live shows, including booking links, connect with the band online at:

https://www.redrumclub.com
https://www.facebook.com/RedRumClubBand/
https://twitter.com/RedRumClub