Enslaved‘s new studio album Utgard was recently released into the world, the concept of which explores the esoteric place in Norse mythology that celebrates the rebirth of the individual – a place where one goes for unification of that which is above and that which lies below. A reckoning of dark and light, of night and day.

In continued celebration of Utgard‘s release, tied in with the upcoming Winter Solstice (a Pagan holy day marking the symbolic death and rebirth of the Sun), the band are proud to announce a Winter Solstice streaming event for Saturday 19th December via the Revolver Magazine Facebook page, which will be followed by a live Q&A with some band members.

The digital event will feature all three parts of Enslaved‘s recent Cinematic Summer Tour, the revered filmed performances titled; ‘Chronicles of the Northbound’‘Below the Lights’ and ‘Utgard the Journey Within’.

The performances will be presented by Revolver Magazine, and will be repeated the next day Sunday 20th December on the Enslaved YouTube channel. The events are also collaborations with respected European festivals Roadburn, Beyond The Gates and Summer Breeze.

Stream the Winter Solstice event here: https://facebook.com/revolvermag
*Saturday 19th December @ 12PM PT / 3PM ET / 9PM CET

Tune into the live band Q&A here: https://facebook.com/revolvermag
*Saturday 19th December @ 2.30PM PT / 5.30PM ET / 11.30PM CET

Watch the Winter Solstice repeat here: Enslaved YouTube Channel
*Sunday 20th December @ 11AM PT / 2PM ET / 8PM CET

Sign up to the event Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/196249751984183/

Enslaved‘s Ivar Bjørnson commented:

“We are moving towards the end of a year where many of us have experienced disappointments and perhaps a feeling of something being lost. In our part of the world one could easily start feeling as if the daily decrease in daylight hours is a double underlining of the misery that will be forever associated with 2020. There is no point in sweeping it under the rug; the pandemic has been, and still is, a total and utter bummer. It is affecting, and in the most negative of ways: our basic social needs, our instinct to move around travel, to do our job; you want to do it – Corona will stop you.

But we do our best, and we find new paths in the dark. That is what humans do – and more often than not we are helped by not only those close to us – but by larger groups formed and joined by common interests, for example. The enormity of the support, and the strength of the community we have felt and experienced as Enslaved this year, has been fantastic. With fond new memories of a vibrant and expanding Enslaved-community throughout the very same year that tried so hard to bring us all down – perspectives start to change and brighten: these shorter and shorter days are definitely not a count-down to some impending doom on the horizon: they are reminders of the change that lies ahead of us. They will keep on darkening until that Shortest of Days – Winter Solstice. Whether you are guided and inspired by old traditions and rites like us, or if you prefer to stick to the scientific observations of Earth’s poles reaching their maximum tilt away from the Sun, before starting the way back towards warmer and sunnier days – we hope you will join us in what we expect to the be a very special and highly charged celebration of the Death and Rebirth of the Sun this year.

It does not matter if the troubles are not “over” yet – we will celebrate through music and our bonds; that we have made it through 2020, that we are still here, that we still have our community and that we make each other strong. That strength will carry over, into yet another new solar cycle – and make us ready to face whatever the coming times have in store for us.”

Cinematic Summer Tour information:

For this forward-thinking concept, ENSLAVED joined forces with three festivals, to present fans with three different shows:

    • July 30th – in cooperation with Roadburn, the tour launched with a “Chronicles Of The Northbound” show.
    • August 20th – the second show was a “Below The Lights” setpresented by Beyond The Gates festival.
    • October 1st – the band ended their virtual tour at Summer Breeze festival with a presentation of some new songs, for their release event “Utgard – The Journey Within”.

Ivar Bjørnson | guitars
Grutle Kjellson | vocals
Arve ‘Ice Dale’ Isdal | guitar
Håkon Vinje | keyboards, clean vocals
Iver Sandøy | drumsENSLAVED online:
http://enslaved.no
http://
facebook.com/enslaved
http://instagram.com/enslavedofficial
http://nuclearblast.de/enslaved

Enslaved recently announced new 2021 tour dates. The live run is set to include nineteen dates taking the band across seven countries, accompanied by IntronautObsidian Kingdom and Crown.

ENSLAVED – UTGARD EUROPEAN TOUR 2021
w/ IntronautObsidian KingdomCrown
09/05 – DE Berlin, Hole44
10/05 – NL Utrecht, De Helling
11/05 – FR Lille, Maison Folie Beaulieu
12/05 – UK Birmingham, 02 Institute 2
13/05 – UK Glasgow, Classic Grand
14/05 – UK Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
15/05 – UK London, 229 

16/05 – FR Paris, La Machine du Moulin Rouge
18/05 – ES Madrid, Caracol
19/05 – ES Barcelona, Boveda
20/05 – FR Lyon, CCO
21/05 – CH, Aarau, KiFF
22/05 – AT Vienna, Metal Meeting
24/05 – DE Munich, Backstage
25/05 – DE Stuttgart, Wizemann
26/05 – DE Cologne, Luxor
27/05 – DE Frankfurt, Das Bett
28/05 – DE Hamburg, Uebel & Gefährlich
29/05 – DE Leipzig, Hellraiser

>Order Enslaved‘s new album Utgard here: https://www.nuclearblast.com/enslaved-utgard

Watch ‘Urjotun’ here: https://youtu.be/pXzRjf7OMek
Watch ‘Jettegryta’ here: https://youtu.be/xkEXIpym5E0
Watch first single ‘Homebound’ here: https://youtu.be/92ptxt1FQiU